the house for fine folk music

Follia!

< Go back

Follia!

Follia! is party. Musical madness, distilled from across the world and bottled in Belgium. A healthy contemporary trendsetter. A lively, up to minute band for your festival, dance hall or arts centre.

Early 1999 Johan Decanq and Sammy Lee Daese played two legendary concerts in Praid and Tirgu Mures, Rumania. Under the Rumanian sky and nurtured by the richly flowing Chuika, the crossover concept of Follia!, where folk and jazz musicians combine the best of both worlds, finally came to full bloom. Follia! was created!

CD cover FOLLIA!

Own lyrics as well as old European lyrics (e.g. songbook Frans Willems – Flanders 19th century) are skilfully used as blue print for the unique Follia! sound. The classical jazz education and the inspiration taken from the folk world’s best musical examples are only pepper and salt in the rich, spicy and adventurous dish that is Follia!
Slow ballads, sparkling songs with oriental inspired incantations, ancient lyrics on a background of psychedelic distortions of the violin; Follia! has it all and brings an irresistible and very exciting mixture of music and dance.

“This band is somewhat the best the lowlands have to offer live. A masterful mix of folk, rock and many other styles, good musicians, ditto show” New Folk Sounds

Line-up :

Indra Boone: voice
Johan Fernand Decancq: bagpipes, flutes and accordion
Sammy Lee Daese: flutes, shawn, keyboards, harmonium and vocals
Jouni Isoherranen: electric bass guitar
Nicolaas Cottenie: fiddle and mandoline
Gabor Vörös: acoustic and electric guitar
Jonathan Callens: drums

 

More info: www.facebook.com/folliatheband.

www.follia.be provides all info on this fascinating band.

For availability and conditions, please contact Loecker – a passion for roots music.

Musical regards,

Patrick

< Keer terug

the house for fine folk music

< Retourner

Follia!

Follia! c’est la fête. Une rage musicale saine, originaire des quatre coins du monde et mise en bouteille en Belgique. Des couleurs contemporaines pour des festivals, des clubs de danse et des centres culturels.

Début 1999 Johan Decanq et Sammy Lee Daese ont joué deux concerts légendaires à Praid et Tirgu Mures en Roumanie. Sous le ciel roumain et nourrie par la richesse du Chuika, le concept crossover de Follia!, dans lequel les musiciens folk et jazz combinent le meilleur des deux mondes, s’est aussi créée.

La musique de Follia! est unique et ne porte pas d’étiquette. Des compositions personnelles avec des arrangements actuels. De la musique tantôt sexy et entraînante, tantôt prompte et rapide, de la musique d’une inspiration parfois occidentale et familière, parfois orientale et mystérieuse. De la musique qui évolue du traditionnel à l’expérimental…

Cet ensemble n’a pas d’égales en Belgique et les Pays Bas. Un mélange de folk, rock et beaucoup d’autres styles, de bons musiciens, dito show.”

New Folk Sounds

CD cover FOLLIA!

Line-up :

Indra Boone: chants
Johan Fernand Decancq: cornemuses, flûtes et accordéon
Sammy Lee Daese: pipeau, flûtes, keyboards, harmonium et chants
Jouni Isoherranen:
guitare basse électrique
Nicolaas Cottenie: violon et mandoline
Gabor Vörös: guitare acoustique et électrique
Jonathan Callens: drums

 

Plus d’infos sur Follia: www.follia.be

Pour les conditions et des réservations, contactez Loecker – a passion for roots music.

Salutations musicales,

Patrick

< Retourner